Home Page

Christ Church Chorleywood C of E School

Trust, Love & Respect:

Learning & Growing with God

Academy Governance

Dame Gillian Pugh (2013) Chair of Governing Body, Chair of Admissions sub-committee, People Working Group 

Gillian was chief executive of England’s oldest children’s charity, Coram (previously the Foundling Hospital) and worked with government departments to improve services for children and families, including setting up Sure Start. She has worshipped at Christ Church for many years.

Nick Moorhouse (2010) Vice Chair of Governing Body, Finance & Premises Working Group

Nick is the parent of a former pupil of the school and remains a member of the Christ Church congregation. He is recently retired from his role as Director of Operations at Hatfield House for The Marquess of Salisbury. He previously also worked as a Divisional Managing Director within the Compass Group.

Reverend David Hall (Ex-officio governor 2012)

David has ministered in a variety of contexts from schools to hospitals and military bases. Before ordination, he was involved in a management role in an international public relations consultancy. He has many years of experience as a governor and has sat on a number of education selection panels. He has four children, one of whom is a pupil at the school.

Jagjit Mudhar (Co-opted 2018) Chair of Finance & Premises Working Group.


Charlotte Kohnhorst (2016) Education Working Group, Admissions sub-committee, Link Governor for SEND.

Charlotte became a member of Christ Church as a child. She attended the school, as did two of her three children. She was a primary school teacher for 20 years and now carries out Educational Assessments.

Sheila Marshall-Taylor (2003) Former chair of governors, People Working Group, Admissions sub-committee, Chair of Education Working Group, Science Link Governor.

Sheila has been a member of Christ Church for 45 years, is mother of four adult children and grandmother of eight, two of whom are in the school. A retired biology teacher, head teacher and independent schools’ inspector.

James Bardwell (2011) Finance & Premises Working Group (Premises Lead Governor), Health & Safety sub-committee

James has three boys, two at the school in Y3 and Y6, and one at secondary school in Y7. He has worked in the construction sector for approximately 20 years and his experience in construction has been particularly useful with the various Christ Church School construction works that have been happening over the last five years. This is both on the ground and at the application for funding stage. James was also an integral part of the client team who built the Junction for the church.

Mary Alderson (2016) Chair of People Working Group, Education Working Group, Diocesan Link Governor.

Mary worked for 18 years in primary education as a teacher and headteacher before retraining as a lawyer. She has been a regular member of Christ Church for over 30 years.

David Martin (2015) Parent governor, Finance & Premises Working Group, Health & Safety sub-committee

Dave has two children at Christ Church in Y4 and Y6 and was elected as a parent governor in 2015. He works as a Director for an international consultancy and construction company.

Jeremy Fletcher (2017) Parent governor, People Working Group, Education Working Group

Jeremy has spent the last 20 years working in the private sector across a number of senior Operational and Commercial Board level roles and was recently the COO for Kantar in the UK & Ireland. He is now COO at Tipi. 

He has children in Y1 and Y3 and worships and leads children's groups at Christ Church.

Coralie Naalchigar (2018) Safeguarding Governor, People Working Group, Admissions sub-committee

Coralie has been a teacher for thirty nine years, having taught in a number of local primary schools. Before retiring, she worked at Christ Church School where she had the role of SENCo and Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead (DDSL). Coralie is an active member of Christ Church.

Peter Cockburn (clerk 2008)

Peter became a charity administrator after a career as an engineer, and has been a member of Christ Church for 30 years. He had been a governor of the school for eight years before becoming clerk.

Duncan Gauld (Headteacher, Accounting Officer, Ex-officio governor 2010)

Laura Clow (2018) Staff governor

Claire O’Rourke (2013) Staff governor

Cora Lynn Heimer Rathbone (2019)

Cora Lynn has worshiped at Christ Church since 1996 and has three grandchildren in the school. She’s been a strategy and executive development consultant for over 30 years, in business schools and global consultancies, is a chartered accountant and a certified executive coach.